WILSON SOCIETY NEWS

It is with deepest regret that we report the death of Josselyn Van Tyne on January 30, 1957. In addition to his accomplishments as an ornithologist, Dr. Van Tyne will be remembered for his unstinting service to the Wilson Ornithological Society. He served as President, 1935–37, and as Editor of *The Wilson Bulletin*, 1939–48, but he also performed a myriad of tasks in an unobtrusive fashion and his advice was sought invariably in the affairs of the Executive Council. As a memorial to Dr. Van Tyne, the American Ornithologists' Union has established the Van Tyne Research Fund. Contributions may be sent to Dr. Philip S. Humphrey or to Dr. Robert W. Storer, Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

We learned with regret of the death of Lawrence E. Hicks on January 20. Dr. Hicks served as President of the Wilson Society, 1940-41.

1957 ANNUAL MEETING

Members of the Wilson Ornithological Society are reminded that the annual meeting for 1957 will be held on the University of Minnesota Campus at Duluth, June 13–16. Duluth is situated in the coniferous forest region, and field trips are planned to wilderness areas where species such as Arctic Three-toed Woodpecker, Brown-capped Chickadee and Spruce Grouse may be found. A variety of activities has been planned and the details of these will be presented in an announcement that will be mailed to members shortly. Plan now to attend and to participate in the program.

LOUIS AGASSIZ FUERTES RESEARCH GRANT

Application forms for the 1957 Louis Agassiz Fuertes Research Grant may be obtained from the chairman of the Research Grant Committee of the Wilson Ornithological Society, Dr. Kenneth C. Parkes, Carnegie Museum, Pittsburgh 13, Pa.

A detailed account of the history of the Grant and the criteria by which applications are judged was published in the December, 1955, issue of *The Wilson Bulletin*, pp. 307–308. Briefly, \$100 is awarded annually by the Society to aid in the completion of the ornithological research project which, in the judgment of the Committee, seems most likely to make an important contribution to ornithological science. Affiliation with a university is not required; the Committee particularly solicits applications from non-student amateurs.

Deadline for applications for the 1957 Grant will be May 20. The Committee's decision will be announced at the annual meeting at Duluth on June 13, and published in the September issue of *The Wilson Bulletin*.

The University of Oklahoma announces that a grant from the National Science Foundation has provided funds for a number of grants-in-aid to be awarded to competent students and investigators in biology for the 1957 summer session at the University of Oklahoma Biological Station, Lake Texoma. Three types of grants are available: (1) postdoctoral grants of \$500; (2) predoctoral grants of \$350; (3) \$200 grants to superior undergraduates or beginning graduates. The investigations pursued must be suitable for the Biological Station.

Applications for grants-in-aid should be made by April 10, and should be sent to: Carl D. Riggs, Director, University of Oklahoma Biological Station, Norman, Oklahoma.

WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE FOR ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE ANNUAL MEETING

A. E. Allin Clarence Anderson W. J. Breckenridge

Mr. and Mrs. J. K. Bronoel

Rosalie Calindo John B. Carlson Amy Chambers Arnold B. Erickson Flora Evans

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Evans

Harvey Gunderson Robert Heller Mark Keith Kenneth Kraft Blanchard Krogstad Mary Lupient William McEwen Raymond Naddy Theron Odlaug

Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Putnam

Mrs. Arthur Roberts Dwain Warner

Pershing B. Hofslund, Chairman

ENDOWMENT COMMITTEE

Whitney Eastman

A. W. Schorger

Phillips B. Street

Olin S. Pettingill, Jr., Chairman

CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

P. F. English

Thomas G. Scott

Lee E. Yeager

Robert A. Pierce. Chairman

RESEARCH GRANT COMMITTEE

John Davis

Eugene Eisenmann

Kenneth C. Parkes, Chairman

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

A. Lang Bailey, Davenport Public Museum, Davenport, Iowa

James R. Beer, Dept. Entomology and Economic Zoology, Univ. of Minnesota, St. Paul 1, Minnesota

Thomas R. Chell, 1220 Beck Lane, Lafayette, Indiana

William M. Clay, Dept. Biology, Univ. of Louisville, Louisville, Ky.

Nicholas L. Cuthbert, Dept. Biology, Central Michigan College, Mt. Pleasant, Michigan

Robert S. Ellarson, Dept. Wildlife Management, Univ. Wisconsin, Madison, Wisc.

G. E. Grube, 132 Park St., Elizabethtown, Penn.

Harold M. Hefley, Panhandle A and M College, Goodwell, Okla.

Arnold J. Hoiberg, Route 3, Box 226, El Dorado, Arkansas

John M. Jubon, P.O. Box 16, East Millstone, New Jersey

Brooke Meanley, P.O. Box 1365, Alexandria, Louisiana

L. R. Mewaldt, Dept. Natural Sciences, San Jose State College, San Jose 14, Calif.

Mildred Miskimen, Dept. Physiology, Miami Univ., Oxford, Ohio

Robert W. Nero, Saskatchewan Museum of Natural History, Regina, Sask.

Mrs. Evelyn J. Putnam, 1407 Woodland Ave., Duluth, Minn.

John P. Rogers, Wildlife Bldg., Univ. of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.

Stephen W. Simon, Blue Mount Rd., Monkton, Maryland

Mrs. Doris H. Speirs, "Cobble Hill" RD 2, Pickering, Ontario

Howard F. Young, Dept. Biology, Wisconsin State College, La Crosse, Wisc., Chairman